Framework for Teaching Rubrics

Efficiently Determine Levels of Performance

The Framework for Teaching divides the complex activity of teaching into 22 components across four domains. Each of the 22 components is made up of multiple elements. There are a total of 76 elements over the 22 components. For example, Communicating with Students is a component of Domain 3: Instruction. One of the elements of Communicating with Students is Directions and Procedures.

  • DOMAIN: Instruction
    • COMPONENT: Communicating with Students
      • ELEMENT: Directions and Procedures

Each of the 76 elements has a rubric which includes descriptions of four performance levels for that element: Unsatisfactory, Basic, Proficient, and Distinguished. The rubrics are a powerful way to develop a common understanding of teaching practices among leaders, observers, and teachers.

Rubrics in the Danielson Collection have an advantage over versions found in print. The Danielson Collection Rubrics are linked to appropriate fields in classroom observation forms. This puts the correct rubrics in the places where they are needed when doing observations to improve the quality of feedback and make the process more efficient.

The Professional Development Resource Library also includes reference material on the rubrics including documentation, commentary from Charlotte Danielson on the relevant element, and sample videos demonstrating “distinguished” practices. Teachers can map their Professional Development Plan to the rubrics and use them to determine their own level of practice when conducting self-assessments.

See how the rubrics are incorporated into the Danielson Collection by signing up for a demonstration of iObservation.